brooks-annotatedswordBallantine Books shockingly was not Terry’s first choice to publish The Sword of Shannara. Terry chose DAW Books to send his first manuscript to because Ballantine already had Tolkien. DAW however sent Terry to Lester Del Rey, the new fantasy editor at Ballantine. Lester immediately saw the value of The Sword of Shannara and signed Terry.

Del Rey Books, with Terry Brooks as its major foundation, was born.

From this humble beginning Terry has written more than 25 New York Times bestselling novels. But what is more marvelous about this fact is that those novels vary greatly in the type of fantasy they present to the reader. The novels of Shannara are epic fantasy, grand and serious in scope. The Landover novels are light-hearted fantasy. Nearly the exact opposite from the Landover novels is the Word & Void series—a dark, contemporary fantasy.

Terry is now writing a post-Dark Legacy of Shannara trilogy titled Defenders of Shannara which will be three loosely-connected stand alone novels.

Note: For Terry’s suggested reading order of Shannara novels, click HERE.



Genesis of Shannara

Legends of Shannara


The Original Shannara Novels

A Shannara Novella

A Shannara Graphic Novel

The Heritage of Shannara

A Shannara Prequel

The Voyage of the Jerle Shannara

  • Ilse Witch
  • Antrax
  • Morgawr

High Druid of Shannara

  • Jarka Ruus
  • Tanequil
  • Straken

The Dark Legacy of Shannara

Defenders of Shannara


  • Magic Kingdom for Sale–Sold!
  • The Black Unicorn
  • Wizard At Large
  • The Tangle Box
  • Witches’ Brew
  • A Princess of Landover
  • Untitled Final Book (forthcoming)




The High Druid’s Blade, Book One of Defenders of Shannara, is published. Terry has finished writing both The Darkling Child and The Sorcerer’s Daughter, sequels to The High Druid’s Blade. The Darkling Child will publish June 9, 2015 with The Sorcerer’s Daughter publishing May 24, 2016!

Terry has begun writing the end Shannara trilogy that will wrap up the end continuity of the series.